The solution to stinky garlic hands

The other day I got some products from Rochelle Rose in the mail. Im always a fan of anything handmade that uses natural ingredients, especially body products because they seem to dry my skin out less than the chemical packed popular brands so I was excited to try out this product. What I was most excited about was their Kitchen Cafe Soap which boasted the ability to remove tough cooking odors like garlic, fish and onion from your hands.

Well I love cooking, especially with ingredients like garlic and onion that quite often leave me smelling like garlic bread for hours. Don’t get me wrong, I love the smell of garlic…other people don’t seem to like it so much and the smell especially does not play nicely with my other perfumes and lotions (garlic and orchid do not smell good together). Ive tried all the tricks to get rid of tough smells like garlic, but none really seem to work that well.

So last night I decided to put Rochelle Rose’s Cafe Kitchen Soap to the test, and not just any test, but the most hardcore test of scent elimination imaginable….Thai Green Seafood Curry. I love making curries but between the onion, garlic, seafood and curry powder, they are the ultimate in stinking up your hands. The curry was delicious, one of the best I’ve ever made but as usual, I had curry hands. So I gave them a quick rinse with the Cafe Kitchen Soap and I was shocked, not a hint of garlic or curry remained! Now granted I don’t have the greatest sense of smell so I used Cesar as a gauge and even he couldn’t detect a hint of garlic. I even crushed some garlic and rubbed it on my hands just to see how good the soap was and it still removed any trace of garlic.

Needless to say Im hooked. The Cafe Kitchen Soap has a happy home in my kitchen window right above the sink. What’s especially nice about the soap is that even though it has a strong spiced coffee smell when you sniff it, it doesn’t leave your hands smelling overly pungent. In fact, the smell is quite subtle and dissipates fairly soon after leaving you with fresh aroma free hands.

Like all of Rochelle Rose’s products, the Cafe Kitchen Soap is made with all natural ingredients including fresh brewed coffee (there’s even some actual coffee beans in the soap! How awesome is that?!). It retails at $6.00 a bar and can be purchased online or in a few select stores. In my opinion this is definitely a must buy for anyone who frequently cooks with smelly ingredients.

The other products I sampled were the Citron Soap and the Mandarin Yuzu Lotion. Both were lovely with mild scents, plus the rustic look of the Citron Soap looks great in my bathroom soap dish.

To learn more about all of Rochelle Rose’s products and order your own bar of soap check out their webpage!

<3 seanalyn

1 Response to “The solution to stinky garlic hands”


  1. 1 NiceTimes January 15, 2009 at 5:27 am

    People who don’t like the smell of garlic probably aren’t worth hanging out with anyway.

    I work in a kitchen and spend most of my time over a stove full of hot pans so I imagine I smell of garlic in between showers. Maybe I’ll look into this.


Leave a Reply

Follow Domestic Geeks on Twitter!

Past Domestic Geekery


