Ice Cream Maker Tales: Pt. 2…electric boogaloo!

So in my last blog I described the glorious purchase of an ice cream maker and the epic failure that was our first attempt. To be fair it had nothing to do with the ice cream maker itself, just our own stubbornness and impatience.

Anyways the following night we regained our dignity and created the most delicious fro-yo this earth has ever tasted (well maybe not, but it was damn close)…Low Fat Banana Frozen Yogurt with Sugarless Dark Chocolate Chips. Dont let the ‘low fat’ and ‘dark chocolate’ fool you, this was a deliciously sweet treat. As Im sure you all know, I love to make healthy indulgences so of course my first frozen endeavor had to reflect this. Honestly getting an ice cream maker was one the best impulse decisions ever! I can make delicious and guilt free deserts whenever I want. I highly recommend the Cuisinart Classic Frozen Yogurt-Ice Cream & Sorbet Maker its quick and VERY easy to use. No need to worry about ice or rock salt…just dump in the ingredients and in about 20 minutes you’ve got ice cream!

Low Fat Banana Frozen Yogurt with Sugarless Dark Chocolate Chips
Ingredients
2 very ripe bananas
3 cups low fat vanilla yogurt
juice of 1/2 orange
2-3 table spoons unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 cup splenda or other sweetener
1 cup sugarless dark chocolate chips (I just bought a bag of hersheys sugarless dark chocolate bars and mashed them up)

In a bowl mash up the bananas until no chunks remain. Add a few table spoons of apple sauce and the juice of 1/2 orange to the banana mash, this is only to add some fluid not flavor, so you dont need to add much…just enough to give a little bit of liquid to the mixture. Bananas are generally very sweet so I only added a 1/2 cup of sweetener, if you feel the mixture needs to be sweeter add more. Mix thoroughly and put in the fridge to cool for about an hour.

Combine 3 cups of low-fat vanilla yogurt to the banana mixture and mix thoroughly. Add the mixture and freeze it in an ice cream maker using the manufacturers instructions. Make sure to only put in as much of the banana yogurt mixture as the instructions say! Each ice cream maker is different, mine for example can only hold 3 and 1/2 cups of liquid before its turned on so I had a little of the banana yogurt left over.

About 5 minutes before the frozen yogurt is done (when its thick but not too hard) add in the dark chocolate chips.

Serve and enjoy! Sprinkle some extra dark chocolate on top for extra deliciousness. Easy huh? Tastier and healthier than that store bought junk and just as easy as walking to the local corner store!

I’ll be trying out more frozen treat recipes over the coming weeks but send me any recipes or suggestions if you have them! The other night I made some Young Coconut Juice Sorbet…it was tasty but the consistency was not quite right so you’ll have to wait until I perfect the recipe to hear about that one.

3 Responses to “Ice Cream Maker Tales: Pt. 2…electric boogaloo!”


  1. 1 ice cream recipe January 6, 2009 at 1:17 am

    thanks for the article it was helpfull

  2. 2 eeyoreblues27 June 16, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Oh, ice cream maker guru…educate me in thy ways! :D
    I was one of the first people around Michigan to own an ice cream maker (I bought this little electric one from some weird store that sold mostly socks) and the directions said “Use only recipes from this manuel,” which I didn’t believe, but turned out to be true.

    Then I bought a rock salt and ice ice-cream maker. That one works just fine, but it’s huge and I usually run out of ice (I live in an apartment so tiny freezer and tiny sink). I absolutely LOVE coming up with low calorie ice cream recipes, but usually I end up settling for low calorie smoothies.

    Any tips?

  3. 3 muhyar February 5, 2010 at 9:38 am

    nice article.
    hope this may help me.
    Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Follow Domestic Geeks on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Domestic Geekery


