Bacon Salt review

Yesterday one of my dear coworkers bestowed upon me 3 bottles of Bacon Salt…Original, Hickory and Peppered. She said she didn’t really ever use it and knowing my love of bacon, thought they would have a better home in my kitchen. I immediately changed my original dinner plan to accommodate my new addition to the spice rack. She did give me one word of advice, “you cant really cook with it or it looses the flavor, like if you are sauteing chicken it wont work but you can top french fries with it after they are cooked.”

Hmmm, this was a little disconcerting but I was still excited to give it a shot. I had a fresh bunch of asparagus in my fridge so I decide to do a steamed asparagus tossed with olive oil and bacon salt then topped with fresh Parmesan cheese. The moment I opened the Original Bacon Salt bottle I noticed a problem…it smelled more like BBQ sauce then bacon. I decide to try the Peppered Bacon Salt on the asparagus hoping that would be a little less sweet.

The Bacon Salt Parmesan Asparagus was good…it tasted a lot more unhealthy that it was heh. Ultimately though the Bacon Salt ended up tasting a bit more bacony than it smelled….but it still wasn’t quite bacony enough in my opinion. Needless to say Im a bit disappointed, but then again the essence of bacon is difficult to capture in a bottle. Really its just that its quite sweet and smokey tasting which is close but not quite bacon (Im scared to try the Hickory since I fear that will be even more BBQey). I’ll try a few more experiments (bacon edamame, bacon fries, fried chicken, etc) before I make my final judgment. As of right now Im sadly not totally sold on the Bacon Salt. Dont get me wrong, I’ll still use the Bacon Salt because it has a really good flavor (especially the Peppered one)…its just not quite up to my high bacon standards.

4 Responses to “Bacon Salt review”


  1. 1 RayRay December 10, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Are you watching the new season of Top Chef by any chance?
    I’m lovin it…looks like a great season. (In NY! WoOT)

    • 2 seanalyn December 10, 2008 at 10:34 pm

      Yes! Its soo awesome! Im rooting for whats-her-name from Amnesia in San Francisco. As my friend Steph so properly pointed out…she looks like Starbuck from BSG

  2. 3 quirkyknitgirl December 10, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Jamie from Absinthe, actually is the one from SF…and she totally looks like Starbuck.

    • 4 seanalyn December 11, 2008 at 12:45 am

      Ah youre right I dont know why I wrote Amnesia (its not even a restaurant!)

      But yeah Jamie is awesome!!! I heart her so much!! Im totally rooting for her :)


Leave a Reply

Follow Domestic Geeks on Twitter!

Past Domestic Geekery


