Things I didnt know I could deep fry: Pumpkin

First off sorry Ive been absent the last two days, its been busy busy at work and at home (Im preparing to leave for Japan in about a week!). Speaking of Japan, I did have time to whip up something delicious and different last night….fried Japanese pumpkin!

I was at the farmers market the other day and spotted a kabocha squash which is a Japanese pumpkin with a green rind and orange flesh.

Its taste is quite similar to sweet potatoes and if youve had tempura veggies most likely youve had kabocha!

See that crescent moon shaped item in the bottom right corner? Thats tempura kabocha!

Anywho, so while at the farmers market I spotted a tasty looking little kabocha and began immediately fantasizing about battering it or throwing it in a curry. I just had to buy one and try it out! While it looked cute on my kitchen counter, I recided that last night was the night I would chop my precious little pumpkin up and eat it. Since Ive been making just a bit too much curry lately for my boyfriend, I decided to tempura it…I quickly realized I didnt have the ingredients to tempura batter it so I decided “Hey Im from Bakersfield and our motto is if all else fails, deep fry the sucker!”

Deep Friend Kambocha Pumpkin

Ingredients

  • 1 Kambocha Pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups flour (I used spelt, but any just about any flour will do)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • To prepare it I cut the top off and scooped out the seeds. I cut the pumpkin into quarters and I then boiled the pumpkin in water for about 10 minutes until the flesh was soft but not totally cooked. One it was cooled I removed the skin with a knife. its okay if a little bit of the green skin remains, just remove the hard part. cut the pumpkin into about inch sized cubes perfect for snacking on. next I beat an egg in a bowl and combined the flour with the salt and pepper…I actually chose to use lemon pepper to give it some pep. dip the pumpkin in the egg and dredge in the flour mixture. heat vegetable oil in a pan until it boils and drop the pumpkin pieces in. cook them until they are a golden brown then transfer them to a paper towel to drain. allow them to cool for a few minutes and serve!

    I decided to serve them with sweet chili sauce and it was divine.

    So who knew you could deep fry pumpkin? I guess it just never dawned on me to do so, but trust me its incredibly delicious especially if you are a fan of sweet and savory profile combos as I am. So with the fall squash harvest coming up I plan on deep frying every gourd I can get my hands on!

    0 Responses to “Things I didnt know I could deep fry: Pumpkin”



    1. Leave a Comment

    Leave a Reply

        Follow Domestic Geeks on Twitter!

    Past Domestic Geekery


