My Christmas Tree + geeky gamer ornaments

I just have to show off my Christmas Tree because Im so in love with the thing and although its still a work in progress (collecting and making ornaments takes a while) its coming along quite nicely.


Heres a whole shot of the fat lil bugger. Cesar wanted a knee high tree while I was rooting for waist high or more but when we got on the lot we saw this one and I ran up and hugged it…after that he couldnt say no even though its chest high. Just look how round and fat that tree is! Its perfect!

The first thing I got for the tree were the awesome pop colored balls from Borders…I just loved the color palate…especially the pink!


The star for the top also came from Borders…of course its hot pink….what else do you expect from me?

Most of the other ornaments were either made or ‘found’ ornaments. I love using things like keychains and small toys to make ornaments! My favorite of all would have to be my Animal Crossing house ornaments

When my friend Garnett went to Japan a few years back he brought me the keychains (you can order them from multiple sites online or on ebay). All my life I’ve loved Christmas ornaments that do something…either light up or open up or something. So what I love most about these houses is that they open up to pop out a little Animal Cross character.


Among my other game related ornaments is also a keychain of a Rocket Slime…I cant remember where I got this but its cute and makes a great ornament.

Another one of my favorite ornaments is a keychain (noticing a theme here) of the popular Japanese character RilakkumaI got at a Japanese convenience store in town.

Finally heres an ornament I made myself!

Its a felted penguin that I made using a kit my friend Jenn gave me for my birthday! I just skewered his head with a hook and stuck him on the tree along with a few other felted penguins I made.

This year has been fun because its the first time Im decorating one from scratch and with Cesar…which makes it even more special. In the past Ive used ornaments my mom gave me which were wonderful and very special, but I want to start collecting my own decorations with my own memories that express who I am. Ultimately Christmas Trees are personal and although its fun to buy certain ornaments (like balls and stars) in stores…its nice to find creative ways to make your own. Keychains are honestly one of the best ways to do this because they are basically just ornaments for your keys so just add a hook and they are perfect on a tree! Especially when it comes to video games there are a plethora of cute keychain/ornaments you can order online or find in stores. Last month I spent a while looking for good video game ornaments and only found a handful. It didnt even dawn on me then that the abundance of video game keychains and mini toys are the perfect ornaments! If youre not into video games you can use keychains you already have, maybe that cheesy one your grandma got you from Universal Studios or that silly glitter unicorn one that you just couldnt resist….they add that personal touch and hold memories, which is what an ornament should do. I think when I get home tonight Im going to look through some of our capsule toys from Japan to see what else I can throw on the tree ;)


Look how Christmasy our living room is! Since we already have a red and black color scheme to the room, the bright green tree just makes it super Christmas time.

If anyone else has pictures of trees post them up! I would love to see what other people are doing!

EDIT- Check out the latest addition to my tree! Pardon the shitty photo quality…I had to use my camera phone.

NINJA PLEASE!

Leave a Reply

Follow Domestic Geeks on Twitter!

Past Domestic Geekery


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

